Lunch and dinner goodies, Pasta and gnocchi, Recipes

Pasta with Tubby custard

My mother always worked on weekend mornings. Our, children’s, responsibility was then to clean the appartment and make sure we had lunch by the time she returned home. As the oldest (and the only one of three that really listened to my mother’s lecturing that happened if things were not done), I tried to do my best to always prepare something for lunch. I was 14 or 15 at the time, and not one of those kids that compete on Junior MasterChef (I guess they are even younger that 15). So you can imagine that my cooking abilities were scarce. I still did my best. Well on one of those weekends I found an old magazine with pasta recipes, flipped through the pages and chose the one that was the easiest to prepare.
Tomato and cream pasta sauce.Do you know about Teletubbies and their Tubby custard? Tubby custard was the food that they ate, it looked kind of gross, I think both the colour and consistency resemble to Cocktail sauce. Cocktail sauce per se is not gross, but I think it would be if you would eat a spoonful of it alone. I know what you are thinking – how the hell did she start thinking about Teletubbies now, their time has past more than 15 years ago, and what does this have to do with the pasta sauce. Bear with me, we’ll get there. And no, I am not a Teletubbies fan, I never was, but I did see a lot of the episodes since my brother, who was around 3 years old when they aired them, really liked them. 
Tomato and cream pasta sauce.Moja mama je od vedno vsak vikend delala zjutraj. Naša odgovornost je takrat bila, da pospravimo stanovanje in poskrbimo, da smo imeli kosilo preden se je vrnila iz službe. Kot najstarejša (in edina, ki je poslušala mamine litanije, ki so odmevale v hiši, ko nismo izpolnili svojih dolžnosti) sem poskušala vedno kaj pripraviti za kosilo. Takrat sem imela 14 ali 15 let, nisem bila ena tistih otrok, ki tekmujejo na Junior MasterChef (mislim, da so oni celo mlajši). Tako da si lahko predstavljate, da so bile moje kuharske sposobnosti minimalne. Sem se pa trudila. No, na enega od teh vikendov sem našla neko staro revijo z recepti za testenine, jo prelistala in izbrala najlažjega za pripravo omake.
Pasta with tomato and cream sauceSe spomnite Telebajskov in Telemakce? Telemakca je bila njihova hrana, izgleda dokaj ogabno. Izgleda kot Cocktail omaka. Cocktail omaka sama po sebi ni ogabna, bi pa verjetno bila ce bi jo jedli na žlico. Vem kaj si mislite – od kje za vraga je privlekla Telebajske, njihova slava je minila 15 let nazaj in kakšna je povezava z omako za testenine. Potrpite z mano, bistvo te zgodbe še pride. In ne, nisem njihova oboževalka, nikoli nisem bila, ampak sem pa videla večino epizod, ker jih je moj brat, ki je imel takrat 3 leta, imel zelo rad.
Pasta with tomato and cream sauce.Back to the pasta sauce. The recipe I picked was for a pasta sauce with tomato sauce and cream, super easy and nothing special you would say. It was pink-ish in colour and when I put it on the table my brother (6 at the time) doubtfuly looked at it and said that it looks like Tubby custard (you see, I had to tell you about Teletubbies before). It was a big success, they both (my brother and sister) really liked it (which never happened, I always had to listen about what they don’t like) and even requested it several times since then, always calling the dish pasta with Tubby custard. Even now when I go home for vacation, my brother asks for it with a comment: “It’s been a while since I ate pasta with Tubby custard!”
Pasta with tomato and cream sauce.I think this is a sauce that a lot of people will like. It is tested on the pickiest eaters, so I know. And it is so easy to prepare, if I could do it back then, then anyone can. The only work is caramelizing onions in butter, which gives them delicious buttery-sweet flavour, after that it’s just adding the tomato sauce and whole cream, boiling the pasta and mixing everything together. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but it is really good. So here you have it – pasta with Tubby custard. 

Enjoy the goodies!

[yumprint-recipe id=’9′]Nazaj k omaki za testenine. Recept, ki sem ga izbrala, je bil za omako s paradižnikovo mezgo in smetano, zelo preprosto in nič posebnega. Končni izdelek je bil nekakšne roza barve in ko sem jed postavila na mizo jo je moj brat (takrat star 6 let) dvomljivo pogledal in rekel da izgleda kot Telemakca (vidite, morala sem vam predhodno povedati za Telebajske). Moje eksperimentiranje je bilo uspešno, oba s sestro sta jo z užitkom pojedla (kar se ni nikoli zgodilo, vedno sem poslušala samo pripombe) in jo od takrat večkrat “naročila”, vedno z imenom pašta s Telemakco. Še zdaj, ko pridem domov, brat včasih izkoristi priložnost s komentarjem: “Že dolgo nisem jedel pašte s Telemakco!”. 
pasta with tomato and cream sauce
Mislim, da je to ena tistih jedi, ki bi bila všeč veliko ljudem. Prestala je testiranje pri najbolj izbirčnih. In priprava je zelo enostavna, če sem jo lahko takrat pripravila jaz, jo lahko vsak. Edino delo je praženje čebule na maslu, da ta postekleni in dobi odličen masleno-sladek okus, po tem sledi samo dodatek paradižnikove mezge in smetane, kuhanje pašte in zmešanje obeh. Vem, da ne zveni nič posebnega, ampak je res dobro. Tako da tukaj jo imate – pašta s Telemakco.

Uživajte v dobrotah!

[yumprint-recipe id=’10’]

2 thoughts on “Pasta with Tubby custard”

Leave a comment